Palliative Care for Complementary Therapists

Prerequisites: This course is suitable for qualified and trainee practitioners

Many therapists work in care settings throughout the UK, be they workers in hospices, hospitals or care homes. Having worked as a complementary therapist within the NHS, I would like to share my experience and knowledge of palliative care with you. By the end of your course you will have a good insight into the palliative care setting and the confidence to work with people at a critical time in their lives to offer them support, dignity and wellbeing.

We will examine:

Day 1

  • The role of the complementary therapist within the palliative care setting
  • What is cancer?
  • Other palliative conditions
  • Contraindications to treatment
  • Treatment adaptations and dignity

Day 2

  • Listening and communication skills
  • Roles and responsibilities
  • Supporting the palliative patient and their loved ones
  • Dealing with difficult questions
  • Coping with grief and loss
  • A good death

Palliative Care

  • Length: 1 or 2 days
  • Time: 9:30am – 4pm
  • Cost: 1 day £140, 2 days £260
  • Venue: Kings Heath / Kings Norton, Birmingham, West Midlands
  • Course Dates:
    • Thurs 10th November & Fri 11th November
    • Tues 24th January & Wed 25th January
    • Tues 25th April & Wed 26th April
    • Tues 25th July & Wed 26th July
    • Tues 24th October & Wed 25th October
  • Enquire / Enrol